Round 2 of the Martyn Dobson Memorial Series

Friday 5th August 2011

by Dan Smith

It was under the watchful eyes of Martyn’s mum, niece and nephew that today’s racing took place.  It was was a muggy evening, but the conditions couldn’t have been much better.

Youth Racing

As usual the youth racing kicked off procedings with the C, D and E categories doing 8 laps, followed by the A & B cats who raced for 15 laps.  With prizes for each category winner and a handful of primes thrown in for good measure, the racing was exciting! 

The winners of each category were:

Boys A: Bradley Naughton
Girls A: Alice Grieve

Boys B: Matthew Worton

Boys C: Nathan Smith

Boys D: Connor Eyeington
Girls D: Abi Smith

Boys E: Patrick Kilkullen
Girls E: Hannah Liddel

Senior Racing

Tonight’s racing for the Martyn Dobson Memorial Trophy was filled with thrills and even spills in the course of the action.  The handicap groups came together fairly early again this week, but not before the intermediate sprint had taken place.  Martin Axon (Velo29) kicked off the sprint with nearly a full lap to go, but was beaten into 3rd place by Martin Hopkinson (Fietsen Tempo) and the comeback king Graham Topp (Stockton Wheelers).  Martin now holds the Green Jersey for next week’s race.

The race came back together just a lap after the sprint.  Immediately the attacks started; Marcus Smith (Black Hawk Bikes) and Michael Dales (Velo29) were in the first break, but this was shortlived.  Then it was Richard Meadows (now of Velo29) who launched a blistering solo attack.  Next it was the turn of race organiser Dan Smith (Velo29) who stayed out front on his own for several laps before being caught by brother Marcus.  This break lasted until less than 20 laps to go before eventually being reeled in.

But the main break of the day was led away by Rob Carter (Velo29), Alex Bottomley (Fietsen Tempo), Taylor Cardus (Velo29) and a bit later Michael Dales (Velo29).  Despite huge efforts by Herbalife Wheelbase rider Simon Baxter to bring the break back, the leading 4 managed to stay away until two laps to go.

Now you would think at this point that the Velo29 had it won with 3 riders in the break and a climber to dispose of in the run in… but disaster struck as Rob and Taylor both crashed out with just 2 laps to go!  Young Alex took advantage of the confusion to forge away on his own, and he took victory by about 10 bike lengths from Michael Dales.

Leading the bunch home was the consistent Giles Pidcock in 3rd place.  Full results below:

1st: Alex Bottomley (Fietsen Tempo)
2nd: Michael Dales (Velo29)
3rd: Giles Pidcock (Epic Cycles)
4th: David Johnson (Adept Precision)
5th: Richard Meadows (Velo29)
6th: Marcus Smith (BlackHawk)
7th: Kevin Byers (Fietsen Tempo)
8th: Alex Hopper (Velo29)
9th: Graham Topp (Stockton Wheelers)
10th: S Johnson

1st: Richard Meadows, 21 points

2nd: Giles Pidcock, 16 points

3rd: Alex Bottomley, 15 points

4th: David Johnson, 13 points

5th: Michael Dales, 11 points

6th Marcus Smith, 10 points

We hope to see you all back again for the penultimate round of the Martyn Dobson Memorial Series on Tuesday 9th August.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Proudly Sponsored By