Round 3 of the Martyn Dobson Memorial Series

Sunday 14th August 2011

by Dan Smith
In this the penultimate round of the Dobson Series there was some exciting racing at all levels, with some interesting tactical riding keeping the spectators guessing what might happen.

Youth Racing

The C, D and E categories once again completed 8 laps and the A & B categories 15 laps of the Middlesbrough Cycle Circuit. 8 out of 10 of the youth categories were represented tonight. The winners tonight were:

Boys A: Bradley Naughton

Boys B: Matthew Worton

Boys C: Nathan Smith
Girls C: Megan Hopper

Boys D: Connor Eyeington
Girls D: Abi Smith

Boys E: Zachary Johnston
Girls E: Hannah Liddel

Overall Youth Results After 3 Rounds

Senior Racing

There was some enthralling tactical racing as riders placed in the top 10 started riding for the overall.  With only 2 weeks left, tonight’s results could have a big impact on the final outcome.

The scratch group lacked its usual organisation this week, with many riders trying to bridge the gap to the front group on their own or by taking only a small group of riders with them.

This meant that the 3rd and 4th cat groups easily stayed away long enough to take the points for the green jersey.  Martin Hopkinson (Fietsen Tempo) once again won the sprint and strengthened his lead in the competition over Graham Topp (Stockton Wheelers).  Martin needs to gain only 1 point in the final round on Tuesday to guarantee victory in the green jersey competition.

Tonight there were less than 10 riders from the scratch group that caught the handicap groups, and the only riders from the top 5 overall to get across were series leader Richard Meadows (Velo29) and team mate Michael Dales.  Richard however failed to capitalise on the opportunity to distance his rivals as he steered off the track and onto the grass in the final sprint.  

Tonight’s event though was won in style by Thomas Timothy (Velo29), who soloed clear of the group with 2 laps to go to win by a straight from the rapidly closing bunch as they sprinted for the line.  Results as follows:

1st: Thomas Timothy (Velo29)
2nd: Harry Tanfield (Wallis Cycles)
3rd: Kevin Byers (Fietsen Tempo)
4th: Graham Topp (Stockton Wheelers)
5th: Simon Baxter (Herbalife Wheelbase)
6th: Taylor Cardus (Velo29)
7th: Chris Mark (Velo29)
8th: Michael Dales (Velo29)
9th: Mike Rennison (Cleveland Wheelers)
10th: Stu Morris (Fietsen Tempo)

The final round is wide open with no less than 12 riders still in with a shout for the Martyn Dobson Memorial Trophy.

1st: Richard Meadows (Velo29) 21 pts
2nd: Harry Tanfield (Wallis Cycles) 17 pts
3rd: Giles Pidcock (Epic Cycles) 16 pts
4th: Thomas Timothy (Velo29) 15 pts
5th: Alex Bottomley (Fietsen Tempo) 15 pts
6th: Michael Dales (Velo29) 14 pts
7th: David Johnson (Adept Precision) 13 pts
8th: Kevin Byers (Fietsen Tempo) 12 pts
9th: Marcus Smith (Black Hawk Bikes) 10 pts
10th: Rob Carter (Velo29) 10 pts

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Proudly Sponsored By