Martyn Dobson Memorial Series Finale

Friday 19th August 2011

by Dan Smith

Tuesday 16th August saw the final round of the Martyn Dobson Memorial Series, with overal winners in no less than 12 different race categories.

Youth Racing

Starting with the youths as usual, there were double the number of A and B cat riders tonight. But this made little difference to the results as Bradley Naughton, Matthew Worton and Alice Grieve all won their respective categories and consequently their overall classifications too.

The C, D & E categories were well supported throughout the whole series and tonight was no different. The youth winners tonight were:

Boys A: Bradley Naughton
Girls A: Alice Grieve

Boys B: Matthew Worton

Boys C: Toby Tanfield
Girls C: Ffion Lanigan

Boys D: Connor Eyeington
Girls D: Abi Smith

Boys E: Patrick Kilkullen
Girls E: Hannah Liddle

See below for the full youth results for the series.  Well done to the Stockton Wheelers who came away with no less than 4 winners medals this year! 

Senior Racing

Consistant points scorer Michael Dales of Velo29 came away the overal victor of the Martyn Dobson Memorial Trophy courtesy of wining the 6-up sprint finish in the final round.  Second place on the night went to Craig Anderson of Black Hawk Bikes in his first ride of the series, and third place went to Richard Meadows (Velo29) who had lead the series from the first week until the final round.  Richard was clearly disappointed to have missed out on the overall win, and having finished equal on points with Dales can consider himself very unlucky.

With a strong wind blowing, the race tonight was hard from the gun.  It wasn’t long before the race had split into 3 distinct groups.  Leading the way were Dales, Meadows, Jack Rees (Velo29), Craig Anderson (Black Hawk) and Simon Baxter (Herbalife Wheelbase). 

In the chase group was eventual 4th placed overall Kevin Byers (Fietsen Tempo), Marcus Smith (Black Hawk Bikes), series organiser Dan Smith (Velo29), Chris Mark (Velo29) and dispensated youth riders Charlie Tanfield (Velo29) and James King (Columba CC).  Doing the majority of the chasing in this group were Smith, King and Byers who had most to gain and they almost made the juncture… but not quite.  They did however provide the launch pad for Chris Mark who powered across the gap alone to join the leaders.

Back in the bunch, Giles Pidcock (Epic Cycles), Alex Bottomley (Fietsen Tempo) and Thomas Timothy (Velo29), who had all been overall contenders found themselves stalemated and out of the running for victory.

The Green Jersey Competition was sown up tonight by Martin Hopkinson of Fietsen Tempo without him having to turn a pedal, thanks to his big lead in the competition.  The winner of tonight’s sprint though was S Deeley of Southport CC, and this was enough to give him 2nd place in the competition.  3rd place overall went to Graham Topp of Stockton Wheelers.

1st: Michael Dales (Velo29)
2nd: Craig Anderson (Black Hawk Bikes)
3rd: Richard Meadows (Velo29)
4th: Jack Rees (Velo29)
5th: Simon Baxter (Herbalife Wheelbase)
6th: Chris Mark (Velo29)
7th: Kevin Byers (Fietsen Tempo)
8th: Charlie Tanfield (Velo29)
9th: Dan Smith (Velo29)
10th: James King (Columba CC)


The top 10 overall in the Martyn Dobson Memorial Trophy Series:

1st: Michael Dales (Velo29) 29 pts
2nd: Richard Meadows (Velo29) 29 pts
3rd: Harry Tanfield (Wallis Cycles) 17 pts
4th: Kevin Byers (Fietsen Tempo) 16 pts
5th: Giles Pidcock (Epic Cycles) 16 pts
6th: Alex Bottomley (Fietsen Tempo) 15 pts
7th: Thomas Timothy (Velo29) 15 pts
8th: David Johnson (Adept Precision) 13 pts
9th: Simon Baxter (Herbalife Wheelbase) 12 pts
10th: Jack Rees (Velo29) 11 pts

If anyone would like to see full results for the whole series, please email us at and we will send you the Excel Spreadsheet.

And finally a big thanks to everyone who turned up and made this race series happen; the riders, the many helpers and of course Martyn’s family.  I feel sure that Martyn would have enjoyed racing on this new circuit, and would undoubtedly have been capable of winning races here himself.

We hope to see you all at the Velo29 Winter Series next year.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Proudly Sponsored By